Potholes for everybody...

Hey guys,

just to say that I've enjoyed a bit of Russian Camping. I decided not to go through Yekaterinburg to Perm and Kazan, but to head south for a view of the Ural mountains to Chelyabinsk and cross from there. The road's are not good at all and I have just reached the 10,000 Kilometre distance since the trip began, From the turn off south at Yekaterinburg to the dual carriageway to Chelyabinsk was very bumpy indeed. You had to keep your eyes wide open for pot holes.

Then about two thirds the way to Chelyabinsk I noticed a camping sign, so decided to give it a try. It was by a lake with a few, what some might call cabin's but I would rather use my tent. I was the only person there apart from the caretaker, who laughted when I offered him money, So I guess it's free. A few things to look at on the bike including a clatter when I hit large bumps. The bike was filthy and had to be cleaned first so the lake is handy, also for a bath.

Descovered the clatter was from the bottom of the rear shock, Where it fits to has a needle bearing which had collapsed.

Fortunately, I have a spare arm, (see picture) as this takes all the weight of me and the bike, so I fitted it at the camp site.

Other things about Russia. People are very helpful, Women are stunning, and very friendly, Food always served on a side plate, (Odd) Sceanery more like Europe from Tomsk, and I'm now in Sim the European side of the Urals, The bike is clean again and the clatter is gone, so all is well, By for now, Paul.


Write a comment

Comments: 0