Malatya - Turkey

 Had a great ride around the South coast of Turkey, until Silifke when the road became from one town to the next and the next, with stop and start battling your way through the traffic, very heavy going, Especially when nobody takes any notice of road rules like pedestrian crossings, intersections, Traffic lanes lights, in fact the lot. It's a lottery but somehow it seems to work, If I didn't go through red lights I'd be dead by now because some truck would have hit me from behind, So you got that plus those in front also trying to kill you. They are all inches away, so you keep your eyes in all directions at the same time, very tiring because I filled up and set my trip metre at the same time just before Silifke and didn't get out of the traffic until way passed Adana, 116 kilometres later, totally knackered, It's a wonder the clutch still works. But managed to keep going until I found an expensive Hotel for £30 for the night. Just nice to spoil myself now and then. Great sleep and breakfast, Very healthy eaters the Turks, Anyway, loaded the bike put the key in the ignition switch, and it would not turn, Snapped off my key, Bugger. So took out the switch, tapped it about a bit, broken bit fell out but spare key still didn't work. The switch can come apart, Electric from the mechanical bit with the steering lock. The Mechanical bit removed I could start the engine with a screwdriver, and that is what I did, and got to this place at Malatya, where I shall try and find another switch to do the job, It will be like finding a needle in a haystack. No big bikes in this part of the world, but will rig up something. The good news is the bike has not used any oil from what I can tell, and still going strong. so a couple of days here before I tackle Iran, If I can get passed Van.

Write a comment

Comments: 0