Ende - Indonesia

"Well I did catch a ferry to Lombok crossed through on the only er (Main) road through, more like a country lane. then the ferry to Sumbawa through Moyo, Empang Bima where we stayed. Then the boat at Sape to Labuhanbajo in Flores, then the 400 kimometers via Ruteng, Bajawa and now in Ende, where we wait to catch the ferry to Timor. Still at least I will be able to keep up with things at Imola for the world superbikes this weekend on the internet. So hope that has helped, I know I had trouble finding map's for this part of the World, in Bristol, and when I did find one it was not much good, So hope it brings you up to date a little better"

 

Just a quick update. Had a good ride through Flores Island and now in Ende from Lapuhan Bajo another 400 Kilometers closer to getting a new shock for the bike. (I hope). The roads were not too bad but all up and down and twist and turns, never straight. People gather around when you stop but only a few ask for money. Life is very laid back and I don't think people have too much to do, so when a foreigner arrives it causes a lot of interest, the trouble is I don't think they have seen anyone with red hair before and many like to laugh, but I guess you have to laugh with them. We will be five bikes for Timor and this will work out cheaper on the boat, Houses are made from all sorts of things, Bamboo, planks, woven straw, bricks and tiles, not what you would see in the western world. Indonesia has it's own problems as the price of everything goes up 30% on 1st April, because of the price of oil, but I have no new's of Political things, and am grateful for that, Could be a war I wouldn't know and not looking to find out; got enough on my plate just keeping going. But the trip is not expensive, hotel's between £3 and £12, a good meal for £1, Petrol is 30p a litre, Oh and a 750ml bottle of beer, is about £2 ($4nz), So I'm told, Cheaper than at home. Now we wait here until Saturday for an 18 hour crossing to Timor, If the weather permits, and then Australia, which I find hard to take in, but it's not that far now. I don't know what to do in Aussie, but it will give me a chance to sort the bike out, for probably a 6000 Kilometer trip through the centre of the Island, maybe longer, so no date yet to return to NZ and back to my old house.


Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Nick Carpenter Bali (Friday, 03 November 2017 12:05)

    Too much information, I have a plan to vidit there and really i got wonderful information.