Bangkok - Thailand

 Just a short update to say that I hope to leave Bangkok on Friday morning. No luck with a new rear shock unless I wait for 10 days and it's very expensive here, so maybe try Singapore, I did notice that I had no brake pads on the front wheel so went to BMW in Bangkok for some, this was 30 kilometres away in the centre of town, I would never have found it on my own so used a cab, They never had any but could get them for £86 ($172 NZ) in ten days, Then a nice lady suggested, I use accessory EBC pads that I could get for another Taxi ride to a parts shop 10 kilometres away, She phoned them up for me first, and they had some for £26 ($55NZ), so I was a happy fella. Then the same cab driver took me all the way back to my hotel (£17 per night) 68 kilometers all up and his total bill into town and out was only £14 ($28 nz), so I guess I did OK. Cabs being cheap and the accessory pads, very happy. The guy I met in Kathmandu, Damon Good, suggested we head south together, which makes sense I guess. This is the first overlander I've met and he has been on the road for 558 days on his Yamaha Tenere, a Kiwi who lives in Aussie. We went out last night to meet a mate of his who lives here, Unfortunately Jack (His friend) was not a happy guy as he had just split with his long time Thai girlfriend, when her Mother said he would have to cough up £11000 if he wanted to marry her. So he did the honourable thing and dumped her, (Ah, nothing like true love at a price). To Thai people we are just walking ATM machines, Anyway can't wait to get going again, and next time try to send some pic's.

Write a comment

Comments: 0