Bengkulu - Indonesia

 Just a quick update, to say that every kilometer is hard fought here in Sumartra Indonesia, So slow that I have to get an extension on my visa to allow time to get to Bali and maybe East Timor. Had a good time at Toba lake, then down the Sumatra Highway (Don't take that literally) more like a farm track in places. I have traveled with three German overlanders up to now but have turned off the Highway and now on the west coast track, (Not a road really) now in Bengkulu waiting for the customs house to open Monday to renew visa. I cant get over how friendly the people are, They obviously see very few people from other places and gather around every time you stop. Petrol is getting hard to find, many stations are empty! I don't know why, and the distances are enormous, at an average speed on only 40 / 50 Kilometers per hour. It's also the wet season, and when it rains (It Rains). The hotels on the road have no running water, no shower,just a bowl, No toilet, to speak of, no air/con and no TV, just a bed that I would rather not describe. Still what do you expect for $6 nz or 3 pounds. Many roads have been washed away and the pot holes can be 1/2 metre deep, On the coast half the road was washed away into the sea, but we press on and hope I don't break the frame. Hope to get my new shock at Cyclone motorcycles, Winnellie NT in Aussie, where ever that is. so hope it all hangs together until then, Regards to everyone, and a special Hi to an old friend from the 76 days in the IOM. Sorry no pictures but my camera has packed up and I need to get another one soon. Regards, Paul.