Hakkari - Turkey

 Well I think I have made a big mistake, Now in Hakkari, but was hoping to get the bike serviced, not a chance, no bike shops, not even any bike oil to buy. And by all accounts this place should be under snow by now, I need to look at the clutch, makes the odd noise now and again. My biggest worry is not being allowed in Iran. It has Come to me that I could be easily trapped here if it did snow and believe me there is no way out. People act friendly but I'm not so sure. The ride from Siirt has been both wonderful and frightening. Lots of soldiers, and have been stopped 7 times, each delay losing me daylight, Lots of small villages, Horrendous holes in the road, I've bottomed the suspension so many times, I'm surprised nothing has broken, I must have a look tomorrow, but somebody has parked their car so close I cant get to it, I will have a look in the morning. I think the clutch nut may have come loose, it's held on by a tab washer, but I don't want the shaft to get damaged. I feel so out of place that I may as well be on the moon, People are so different and so religious, we have no way to compare ourselves with them, pity really. On the other hand I've been through some incredible mountains, 2000 metres plus and into the snow, Sun shinning but very cold. In the villages kids either wave or throw rocks, O'h and the dogs love to bite at your feet, all very entertaining, But I wish I didn't find so many vehicles on my side of the road on corners. I reckon I only averaged about 50 Kl/m an hour today, quite hard going. I will look for a bank for Irainian money tomorrow, but may not be easy then see the day after If I can get into Iran. I have 1 litre of oil which is about half what i need, so maybe find a place to dump old oil and top up with new oil, It's got to be better than nothing. I need to get to warmer climates ASAP, or this trip will finish early. Should anything happen, like I blow my lap top or something, don't worry, I'll look for cafe's. anything can happen, I don't know if they have Wi Fi in Iran, I just want to get through safely ASAP. Must admit I'm a little nervous, but it will work out in the end.

Write a comment

Comments: 0