Xanthi - Greece

 I was very concerned about the weather in Slovenia, It was so cold, Not a damp bone chilling cold but freezing all the same, White trees and all that stuff. I just had to keep going as I didn't want the trip to end in Europe. Eastern Europe is a very depressing place I don't know how they manage, They just look so miserable, with houses that look like they have been bombed. I guess It makes us feel lucky to be where we live, Even in England. Had a bit of trouble at the Macedonian border, I thought They were in the EU, there not so I had to cough up 50 Euro,s for bike insurance, But found a nice hotel for 25 Euro's. It was still freezing but with a little sunshine which makes you feel so much better. Roads in Serbia are bad an this is the motorways. My rear shock has had a hammering so I only travel at 60 mph and keep my eyes peeled. Chicken's are not an everyday sight on motorways, and goats are often seen grazing on the side of the road, but they must be used to traffic noise as they don't seem to care. So Today I've come from the north of Macedonia through Thessaloniki East past Kavala to this town of Xanthi (SANTHI) in English. It was dark when I arrived, not a good idea to ride in the dark with stray dogs everywhere. I am pleased to report that it is 13 degs c. The warmest I've been since France, and for the time being a successful start to the trip. I won’t talk too much about the bike, but it's OK. The temperature of the oil has gone from 60deg's to a more normal 80deg's so all is well there. I just hope the rear shock is OK. Next I'm off to Turkey, Turning south at Malkara to Troy and Izmir, to catch some more warm weather, Then it's off to Iran.

Write a comment

Comments: 0